$restriction.code /sports/wswimdive/2018-19/releases/20190407mptsit

Ohio Swimming & Diving Team Earns CSCAA Scholar All-American Award

Ohio Swimming & Diving Team Earns CSCAA Scholar All-American Award


ATHENS, Ohio -- The Ohio swimming & diving team was selected as a winner of the College Swimming and Diving Coaches Association of America's (CSCAA) Scholar All-American Award.

"I am very proud of the academic accomplishments of our women's swimming and diving team," said Ohio Director of Athletics Jim Schaus. "At Ohio, our student-athletes are truly students first which shows through their numerous academic accomplishments."

The award recognizes teams that are current members of the CSCAA and have achieved excellence in their academic studies, achieving a grade point average of 3.0 or higher. The team's GPA calculations include every student-athlete who competed during the season.

"We focus greatly on the student-athletes whole experience here at Ohio and our team has consistently made it a goal each season to be a Scholar all-American team," said first-year head coach Mason Norman. "The dedication and commitment that the entire team put into the raising the academic standard last semester paid off. I am proud of the entire team and look forward to our success in the future."

Members of the 2018-19 team included freshman Athena Aravantinou (North Bethesda, Md.), sophomore Carolyn Bischoff (New Hudson, Mich.), junior Mackenzie Caruthers (Hilliard, Ohio), senior Emily Davis (Lexington, Ky.), redshirt junior Olivia Dillon (Newcastle, Australia), sophomore Katherine Garrity (Eagan, Minn.), sophomore Samantha Glass (Villa Hills, Ky.), junior Annie Gosselin (Naperville, Ill.), freshman Madison Haschemeyer (Springfield, Ill.), junior Chastity Haxton (Englewood, Fla.), senior Ana Henderson (Danville, Calif.), senior Mackenzie Hornstra (Naperville, Ill.), senior Nicole Hughes (Cleveland, Ohio), sophomore Abigail Jordan (West Chester, Ohio), freshman Madeline Kenyon (Dayton, Ohio), freshman Rebekah Klem (Columbiana, Ohio ), junior Emilia Lahtinen (Ylojarvi, Finland), junior Ireland Littlejohn (Grand Rapids, Mich.), freshman Taylor Miller (Latrobe, Pa.), freshman Kelsey Morgan (Pickerington, Ohio), sophomore Katelyn O'Brien (Williams Bay, Wis.), senior Emily Ortner (Concord, Calif.), freshman Cloe Pace (Naperville, Ill.), junior Courtney Perrett (Durban, South Africa), junior Katherine Redden (Fort Thomas, Ky.), sophomore Hannah Schlegel (Birdsboro, Pa.), freshman Kendra Sheehan (Columbus, Ohio), junior Ryleigh Tuck-Macalla (Bay Village, Ohio), senior Corrin Van Lanen (Green Bay, Wis.), senior Lexie White (Waxhaw, N.C.) and senior Maddie Wyke (Columbus, Ind.).

The Bobcats earned dual meet wins over Marshall, Toledo, Duquense, Xavier and Youngstown State and placed fifth at the 2019 Mid-American Conference Championships in their first season under the direction of Norman.