$restriction.code /sports/wgolf/2018-19/releases/20180908d9n13w

Ohio Women’s Golf Opens Season at Redbird Invitational

Ohio Women’s Golf Opens Season at Redbird Invitational

Athens, Ohio—The Ohio women's golf opens the 2018 season at the Redbird Invitational from Sunday, Sept. 9 to Monday, Sept. 10. Hosted by Illinois State, the two-day, 54-hole tournament will take place on the 6,002-yard course at Weibring Golf Club in Normal, Ill. 

Par is set at 72, with the first two rounds are set to begin on Sunday with a shotgun start and continuous play. The third round will begin on Monday with a shotgun start as well. 

This year's event will see fifteen teams including Illinois State, Akron, Western Illinois, Ohio, Ball State, Bowling Green, UNI, Bradley, Butler, Northern Illinois, Drake, Eastern Kentucky, Evensville, Illinois Wesleyan and Loyola Chicago. 

Competing for the Bobcats at this year's event are seniors Nicole Smiley (Dublin, Ohio) and Emily Hughes (Columbus, Ohio), junior Marissa Balish (Allison Park, Pa.) and freshmen Alicia Porvasnik (Hinckley, Ohio) and Catherine Loftus (Roswell, Ga.). Competing as an individual is sophomore Ashley Flynn (Dublin, Ohio). 

Last year, at the Redbird Invitational, the Bobcats claimed ninth place in the tournament. In that showing, Ohio shot a 314 on the first round and a 316 in the second round, finishing with a total of 630 (+54). Ball State, Valparaiso and IWU fell behind Ohio with scores of 635, 652 and 668, respectively.

In the 2018 MAC Championships, the Bobcats finished in eighth place, shooting a tournament total of 957 (+93). Senior Lily Pendy was named the 2018 MAC Sportswoman of the Year. 

Returning to the squad are Balish, Ashley Flynn, Amanda Hayes, Hughes, Chloe McKinzie, Smiley and Hannah Travis. Ohio is welcoming three newcomers; freshmen Porvasnik, Loftus and Mallory Lovell are joining the roster. 

Live scoring will be available through BirdieFire.com.

After the Redbird Invitational, the Bobcats will head to the 2018 Cardinal Classic in Yorktown, Indiana. The event will be hosted by Ball State at The Players Club.