$restriction.code /sports/fball/2018-19/releases/20181214tgsn5z

A Look Back At Ohio Football's Three Bowl Victories

A Look Back At Ohio Football's Three Bowl Victories

FOLLOW OHIO FOOTBALL: Facebook | Twitter

ATHENS, Ohio -- The Ohio football team will depart for Texas tomorrow morning to compete in the 2018 DXL Frisco Bowl against San Diego State. The contest will be played next Wednesday (Dec. 19) at Toyota Stadium in Frisco Texas, with kickoff of the nationally televised matchup on ESPN set for 8 p.m. ET/7 p.m. CT.

Ohio is making its 12th bowl appearance in program history, 10th in the last 13 years, ninth in the last years 10 years and fourth in a row.

As the Bobcats seek their fourth bowl championship in program history, OhioBobcats.com takes a look back at the previous three victories.

2011 Famous Idaho Potato Bowl
Ohio 24, Utah State 23
Dec. 17, 2011
Bronco Stadium
Boise, Idaho
MVP: WR LaVon Brazill

In its third-straight bowl appearance and fourth overall under head coach Frank Solich, Ohio rallied for a thrilling win over Utah State in the 2011 Famous Idaho Potato Bowl in Boise, Idaho. The Bobcats trailed 9-0 after one quarter of play, but quarterback Tyler Tettleton helped cut the deficit to two points when he threw a 26-yard touchdown pass to tight end Derek Robackwith just under five minutes to play in the first half. Running back Michael Smith produced touchdown runs of 63 yards and 11 yards in the third quarter, though, to push the Aggies' lead to 23-10. Wide receiver LaVon Brazill kept the Bobcats in it, however, hauling in a 44-yard scoring strike from Tettleton with 3:45 remaining in the third quarter. Ohio's defense clamped down in the fourth quarter and forced Utah State to punt with just two minutes remaining. Tettleton then engineered a nine-play, 61-yard drive that was kept alive by a critical fourth-down completion to Brazill and capped off by the quarterback keeping it himself and scoring from a yard out with 13 seconds left, clinching a 24-23 win for the Bobcats. Brazill was named Most Valuable Player after tallying eight receptions for 108 yards and a score.

2012 Advocare V100 Independence Bowl
Ohio 45, ULM 14
Dec. 28, 2012
Independence Stadium
Shreveport, La.
MVPs: QB Tyler Tettleton, RB Beau Blankenship, LB Keith Moore

Ohio won its second-straight bowl game by dominating ULM, 45-14, in the 2012 Advocare V100 Independence Bowl. The Bobcats set a school bowl record with 556 yards of total offense. Running back Beau Blankenship rumbled for 105 yards on 19 touches and set the school record for rushing touchdowns in a bowl game with four. Quarterback Tyler Tettleton completed 14 of his 22 pass attempts for 331 yards and two touchdowns. Wide receiver Chase Cochran snagged three receptions for 162 yards and a score. Defensively, the Bobcats limited the Warhawks under 100 yards rushing and produced three interceptions. Linebacker Keith Moore logged a game-high nine total tackles (seven solo) and recorded a sack.

2017 Bahamas Bowl
Ohio 41, UAB 6
Dec. 22, 2017
Thomas Robinson Stadium
Nassau, Bahamas
MVPs: RB Dorian Brown, FS Javon Hagan

The Bobcats routed UAB, 41-6, in the 2017 Bahamas Bowl to pick up the third bowl win in program history. Running back Dorian Brown tallied the most rushing yards by an Ohio player in the program's bowl history, running for 152 yards and tying the program's individual bowl record with four rushing touchdowns. As a team, Ohio set a program record for most rushing yards in a bowl game with 249. Quarterback Nathan Rourke finished 12-of-18 for 185 yards and two touchdown passes. Defensively, free safety Javon Hagan piled up a game-high nine total tackles (six solo) and forced a fumble. The six points allowed by the Bobcats marked the fewest an Ohio opponent has managed in 11 bowl games.

Stayed tuned to OhioBobcats.com for more coverage of the Bobcats' trip to the 2018 DXL Frisco Bowl.


Frisco Bowl Live Airs Tonight
December 17, 2018 Frisco Bowl Live Airs Tonight