$restriction.code /sports/fball/2018-19/releases/20180724i6ypxd

Ohio Football's Lowery Named To 2018 Outland Trophy Watch List

Ohio Football's Lowery Named To 2018 Outland Trophy Watch List

FOLLOW OHIO FOOTBALL: Facebook | Twitter

Football Writers Association of America Release

DALLAS -- Ohio football redshirt senior offensive lineman Joe Lowery (Tallmadge, Ohio) has been named to the 2018 Outland Trophy Watch List presented by the National Foundation for Infectious Diseases, as announced by the Football Writers Association of America on Tuesday (July 24).

Lowery is one of 82 standout interior linemen representing all 10 NCAA Division I FBS conferences and independents on the watch list.

Lowery is coming off a 2017 season in which he was named to the All-MAC Second Team Offense and helped lead the Bobcats to a 9-4 overall record -- including a 5-3 mark in Mid-American Conference play -- and a Bahamas Bowl Championship with a 41-6 victory over UAB. He helped pave the way for an Ohio attack that set program single-season records in points scored in a season (508), scoring average (39.1), yards per carry (5.7) and rushing touchdowns (44).

This is the first year of a partnership with the NFID to present the Outland Trophy as part of a public awareness campaign focused on the importance of influenza (flu) prevention during the 2018-19 flu season. The award honoring the top interior lineman in college football will continue to be selected by the FWAA membership and has been rebranded as the Outland Trophy presented by the National Foundation for Infectious Diseases with a social media hashtag of #FightFlu.

University of Wisconsin All-American Joe Thomas, the 2006 Outland Trophy winner who retired earlier this year after a stellar 11-year career with NFL's Cleveland Browns, will serve as the Outland Trophy #FightFlu ambassador. Thomas has been an avid supporter of annual flu vaccines. He will make media appearances on behalf of the #FightFlu public awareness campaign to remind people to get their annual flu shots.

Additionally, Thomas will announce the recipient of the 73rd Outland Trophy during ESPN's The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 6, live from the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta. The official presentation to the winner will be made at the Werner Enterprises Outland Trophy Awards Dinner produced by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee on Jan. 9, 2019. Up to seven semifinalists will be named on Nov. 14 in Omaha and three finalists for the award will be announced on Nov. 19.

Ohio will open the 2018 season on Sept. 1 with a 2 p.m. ET matchup against Howard at Peden Stadium. Click here for ticket information or call 1-800-575-CATS (2287). 


Frisco Bowl Live Airs Tonight
December 17, 2018 Frisco Bowl Live Airs Tonight