$restriction.code /sports/fball/2018-19/releases/20180717in3qyc

Ohio Football's Rourke Named To 2018 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List

Ohio Football's Rourke Named To 2018 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List

FOLLOW OHIO FOOTBALL: Facebook | Twitter

Davey O'Brien Foundation Release

FORT WORTH, Texas -- Ohio football junior quarterback Nathan Rourke (Oakville, Ontario) has been named to the 2018 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List, as announced by the Davey O'Brien Foundation on Tuesday (July 17).

Rourke is one of 26 of the nation's top college quarterbacks named to the list and is one of two quarterbacks representing the Mid-American Conference, joining Buffalo junior Tyree Jackson. The preseason watch lists keep stacking up for Rourke, who was named to the Maxwell Award Watch list on Monday.

Rourke put together a breakout sopohomore season in 2017 as he helped lead the Bobcats to a 9-4 overall record, including a 41-6 win over UAB in the Bahamas Bowl. In 13 games, Rourke set a school record with 21 rushing touchdowns with 137 carries for 912 yards rushing. An All-MAC Second Team selection, Rourke threw for 2,203 yards and 17 touchdowns, completing 161-of-292 pass attempts. He also set school records with 132 points scored and 22 touchdowns scored and was responsible for 39 touchdowns.

Compiled by a subset of the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee, this year's list was selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2018 college football season. All nominees are required to have previously started at least one game at their current institution. In addition, any player who was a finalist or semifinalist the previous year is automatically included.
The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. Appearing on the watch list is not a requirement for a player to win the award. Quarterbacks from all 130 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible.
Sixteen semifinalists for the award will be named on Tuesday, Nov. 6. From that list, the Foundation will announce the three finalists on Monday, Nov. 19. The 2018 Davey O'Brien Award winner will be unveiled live Thursday, Dec. 6, during The Home Depot College Football Awards.
The 2018 season marks the 12th year that fans will be invited to participate in the voting process on VoteOBrien.org. Results from the Davey O'Brien fan vote will be combined with the ballots from the selection committee. Fan voting, which accounts for five percent of the total balloting, will begin on Tuesday, Sept. 4. The 42nd Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner will be held Monday, Feb. 18, 2019, in Fort Worth, Texas.

Ohio will open the 2018 season on Sept. 1 with a 2 p.m. ET matchup against Howard at Peden Stadium. Click here for ticket information or call 1-800-575-CATS (2287). 


Frisco Bowl Live Airs Tonight
December 17, 2018 Frisco Bowl Live Airs Tonight