$restriction.code /sports/fball/2017-18/releases/20170713phk0yz

@OhioFootball's Pruehs Named To Outland Trophy Watch List

@OhioFootball's Pruehs Named To Outland Trophy Watch List

ATHENS, Ohio — The Football Writers Association of America announced its 2017 Outland Trophy Watch List on Thursday, with 81 standout interior linemen from all 10 Division I FBS conferences represented. Included on the list was Ohio senior center Jake Pruehs (North Olmstead, Ohio). 

This marks the second watch list Pruehs has been selected to. Earlier this summer he was selected to the Rimington Trophy watch list. 

Pruehs has started in 25 games during his career at Ohio including starting in all 14 games last season at center.

In 2017, Pruehs anchored the offensive line which gave up just 19 sacks through the season and averaged 26.3 points per game and 392.3 yards per game including 167.9 rushing yards per game. Helped lead the Bobcats to the MAC East Title and the 2016 Marathon MAC Championship game against Western Michigan.

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are a part of the annual FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects a 26-man first team and eventually the three Outland finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner. Only interior linemen on offense or defense are eligible for the award; ends are not eligible.

The list will be trimmed to six or seven semifinalists on Wed, Nov. 15. Six days later, three Outland Trophy finalists will be named by the FWAA. The winner of the 72nd Outland Trophy – named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn at the turn of the 20th century, will be announced live on ESPN at The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thurs., Dec. 7. For the third straight year, the show will air from the National Football Foundation's College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta.

The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be held on Jan. 10, 2018 in Omaha, Neb. Former Florida State coach Bobby Bowden will receive the Tom Osborne Legacy Award at the same banquet. The Outland Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 23 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit ncfaa.org to learn more about our story.


Ohio vs. UMass | Postgame Notes
September 30, 2017 Ohio vs. UMass | Postgame Notes
Ohio Football Beats UMass 58-50
September 30, 2017 Ohio Football Beats UMass 58-50
Ohio Defeats Kansas 42-30
September 16, 2017 Ohio Defeats Kansas 42-30
September 7, 2017 OPPONENT SNAPSHOT: Purdue
Captains Run in the Family
September 2, 2017 Captains Run in the Family