$restriction.code /sports/bsb/2018-19/releases/20190521gx0amm

Back-to-Back: Rott Wins MAC Player of the Year, Kutt IV Named Second Team All-MAC

Back-to-Back: Rott Wins MAC Player of the Year, Kutt IV Named Second Team All-MAC

FOLLOW OHIO BASEBALL: Facebook | Twitter 

CLEVELAND – For the first time ever, there is a two-time Mid-American Conference Player of the Year. Senior INF Rudy Rott (Holmen, Wis.) was named MAC Player of the Year for second-straight season, the league announced on Tuesday. Rott also earned All-MAC First team and sophomore RHP Edward Kutt IV (Westlake, Calif.) was named second team All-MAC.

Rott's second MAC Player of the Year award is Ohio's fourth. Rott took home the honor in 2018, while Mitch Longo (2015) and Marc Krauss (2009) also won the award. He gives the Bobcats eight All-MAC First Team selections over the last five seasons.

Rott – a sport management major - leads the Bobcats in batting average (.377), hits (72), doubles (17), home runs (10), RBI (45), slugging percentage (.634) and on-base percentage (.457). His .377 batting average in No. 40 in the nation and second in the MAC. Rott was second in the league in slugging percentage and tied for second in home runs.

In conference play, Rott hit an impressive .423 and had a slugging percentage of .711, both good for second in the league. Rott's MAC on-base percentage is the best in the league at .529.

Rott earned MAC Player of the Week honors for the fourth time in his career on May 20 after hitting two home runs for the Bobcats and had four RBI to clinch a spot in Avon on the final day of the season. Rott had a total of 12 RBI that week, including three in Ohio's series opening win over WMU and five in Ohio's midweek game against Marshall. He had an impressive slugging percentage of 1.000 and reached base in a .579 clip last week.

The Holmen, Wisconsin native now has 284 hits in his career, two behind the all-time leader in Ohio history, Jake Madsen.

Kutt IV – an environmental and plant biology major - made the All-MAC second team for the first time in his career. Kutt IV had a team best 3.13 ERA this season in 22 appearances and seven starts. Kutt IV tossed a team-high 74.2 innings and struck out a team-high 67 batters.

Kutt IV is eighth in the MAC in ERA at 3.13. During conference play, no one tossed more innings than Kutt IV with 62 and he was fourth in conference strike outs with 56. In Ohio's crucial last weekend, Kutt IV grabbed the series opening win after tossing 6.0 innings and then turned around and got the save to clinch a spot in Avon. 

Ohio will open the MAC Tournament tomorrow against Kent State. First pitch is set for 6 p.m.

Specialty Award Winners

Coach of the Year: Jordan Bischel, Central Michigan

Freshman of the Year: Justin Kirby, OF, Kent State

Freshman Pitcher of the Year: Sam Bachman, RHP, Miami

Player of the Year: Rudy Rott, 1B, Ohio 

Pitcher of the Year: Drey Jameson, RHP, Ball State

Defensive Player of the Year: Chase Sebby, C, Ball State

2019 First Team All-MAC

C - Griffin Lockwood-Powell, Central Michigan

1B - Rudy Rott, Ohio

2B - Landon Stephens, Miami

SS - Zavier Warren, Central Michigan

3B - Kian O'Brien, Kent State

OF - Ben Carew, Kent State

OF - Blake Dunn, Western Michigan

OF - Jacob Crum, Central Michigan

SP - Drey Jameson, Ball State

SP - Pat Leatherman, Central Michigan

SP - John Baker, Ball State

SP - Sam Bachman, Miami

RP - Nick Floyd, Ball State

DH - Cole Andrews, Miami 

At-Large — Michael Turner, C, Kent State

2019 Second Team All-MAC

C - Cal Elvers, Miami

1B - John Ricotta, Ball State

2B - William Baker, Ball State

SS - Drew Devine, Western Michigan

3B - Zachary Owings, Eastern Michigan

OF - Brad Boss, Toledo

OF - Ross Messina, Ball State

OF - Cam Touchette, Kent State

SP - Cam Brown, Central Michigan

SP - Brady Miller, Western Michigan

SP - Edward Kutt IV, Ohio

SP - Jack Corbell, Miami

RP - Luke Albright, Kent State

DH - Alex Ronnebaum, Kent State

At-Large - Chase Sebby, C, Ball State 

2019 All-Defensive Team

C- Chase Sebby, Ball State

1B- John Ricotta, Ball State

2B - Riley Minorik, Bowling Green

SS - Neil Lambert, Bowling Green

3B - Zachary Owings, Eastern Michigan

OF - Ben Carew, Kent State

OF - Jake Wilson, Bowling Green

OF - Jacob Crum, Central Michigan

P - John Matthews, Kent State