$restriction.code /sports/bsb/2018-19/releases/20181211jdh39j

Ohio Baseball Announces 2019 Schedule

Ohio Baseball Announces 2019 Schedule

FOLLOW OHIO BASEBALL: Facebook | Twitter 

2019 Ohio Baseball Schedule

ATHENS, Ohio – The Ohio baseball program released its 51-game 2019 schedule, as announced by seventh-year head coach Rob Smith on Tuesday. 

"I am excited about the year's schedule," Smith said. "We will play some quality nonconference teams early in the season and that is great for figuring out who we are as a team."

The 2019 slate features 24 home games at Bob Wren Stadium – up from 15 last season. Nonconference opponents that will play on the Nicholson Family Turf will include Ohio State, Marshall and Army. The Bobcats will play 27 Mid-American Conference games and will welcome last year's MAC champion Kent State to Athens.

The Bobcats open the season with 12 games on the road. Ohio begins the year in Spartansburg, South Carolina to face Wofford College (Feb. 15-17). The Bobcats will then head to the west coast for a four-game series with new Division I member California Baptist (Feb. 22-24) in Riverside, California. After facing CBU, Ohio will return to Spartansburg, South Carolina to take on USC Upstate (March 1-3) for a three-game series.

Ohio will return to the state for the last part of the road stretch on March 8-10. The Bobcats will play Dayton, Wright State and Canisius that weekend, with all games played at either Dayton or Wright State. 

The Bobcats will open hold their home opener on March 15 at 4 p.m. when they welcome Army (March 15-17) for a three-game series.

MAC play will start at home when Central Michigan (March 22-24) comes to Bob Wren Stadium. Home MAC opponents include Bowling Green (March 29-31), Toledo (April 12-14), Kent State (April 26-28) and Miami (May 3-5). In conference play, the Bobcats will head to Northern Illinois (April 5-7), Ball State (May 10-12) and Eastern Michigan (April 19-21).

Home nonconference midweek games include Dayton (March 19), Marshall (March 26, May 14), Morehead State (April 2), Shawnee State (April 3) and Ohio State (April 9). Ohio will hit the road during the midweek to face Marshall (April 16), Youngstown State (April 23) and Dayton (May 7).

The MAC Tournament will be held May 22-26 at All Pro Freight Stadium in Avon, Ohio. The winner receives the league's automatic bid to the 2018 NCAA Championship.

Ohio returns senior first baseman Rudy Rott (Holmen, Wis.), who earned Mid-American Conference Player of the Year, All-MAC First Team and All-MAC Defensive Team selection in 2018, and designated hitter Tanner Piechnick (Canonsburg, Pa.), earned All-MAC Second Team recognition in 2018.